Stained Glass, a verse

The hard stone pillars divert my eyes upward with a feeling of smallness.

The intricate iron fences bar me from the altars dressed in silk.

The tombs as silent as those they house forebode me.

Yet as the clouds part, the light gently filters through the carefully cut and dyed glass.

A mosaic of colors surround me as I bask in heaven’s light.

 

The Cathedral of Mallorca is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. I realized how very soft light is against the hardness of this world and thought it was a beautiful metaphor for how God enters our lives and warms even the coldest marble stone heart.

Leave a Reply

